Adjacent to Alaska

This is my third season working in a mining exploration camp. It is the part of my life people fail to remember when they see my rather undirected and charmed life outside of steel toe boots.

For the record, the boots are quite unnecessary, but who am I to argue with Dad?

I am optimistic about things so far, but I am also melodramatic and a junkie for novelty.

I arrived to Terrace not knowing who was picking me up or who I was joining me on the 4.5 hour drive up the mountain. I was among the least disappointed when we had to fit 10 burly men and 1 girl into an 11 seat van. Strangely, space is a luxury I have never cared for while travelling and it was a great group of guys in the car.

We laughed our way along the snowy roads and I felt like I was on my way to a snowmobiling trip with my Dad. Eventually the snow on the side of the roads was tall enough that we definitely wouldn’t have been going snowmobiling and then it switched gears to “who knows where we are and how long would it take someone to start looking for us?”

Then…a Russian truck driver jackknifed his truck on the road. We waited 4 hours on standby as the tow truck got to work. Fortunately we didn’t have to wait in what was becoming a very lived in van, we went to our drivers nearby cabin. I took my steel toe boots off and we ate pizza and pop like a bunch of bored kids at a birthday party.

We also watched 4 episodes of Pawn Stars which is awesome.

Then late in the dark we headed back down the snowy road for the final leg of our trip. John and Cole, two very good friends of mine came to pick us up on quads in a beautiful snowy blizzard. I say beautiful because I am still on the novelty bandwagon.

Tomorrow I am excited to see some more friends; this trip has been very champagne so far. Hopefully the internet kicks in so I can post this before I change my mind.

Leave a Reply

