Receiving her Christmas tree by helicopter

This tree is about 15-20 feet tall and Lucas welded the star for the top. It is in the middle of camp next to our snow cave, giving a bit of a ski lodge plaza atmosphere.

This tree is about 15-20 feet tall and Lucas welded the star for the top. It is in the middle of camp next to our snow cave, giving a bit of a ski lodge plaza atmosphere.

Geoff has been a good friend and a pilot in our camps for 3 years and I hope his email regarding the Christmas tree that he picked out, chopped down, and has flown into our camp will give you an idea of the comradeship and adventure I get to experience at work.

Here is the story of the Christmas tree that has caused so many holiday smiles in our secluded winter wonderland:

______________________________________________________________

Hi,

I have located a tree, which says a lot about me and my looking abilities since I live in the middle of a forest FULL of trees, but this tree is exceptional!!! Exceptional in that it is not a swamp spruce… which is really all that is growing in this lousy valley.
This fine tree that I have found seems to be quite nice, relatively speaking, it is bushier than most trees. It does have one small flaw though… its pink. Actually its not pink, but it does have a flaw…
the very very top appears to be not as bushy as I’d like, but it extends higher than the natural taper and you can cut it a bit to make a wonderful looking, symmetrical and text book shaped tree. Once modified it will probably accommodate a star, or an angel, or a giant piece of core with a gold nugget embedded in it quite nicely and it should look smashingly fantastic. Any who, Jaret and myself will go and cut it down tomorrow evening and prepare it to fly. When I say Jaret and Myself I mean that I will watch Jaret from the safety of the road as he tries to wade through the 4 foot deep snow, filling his boots and getting his feet and socks all wet and cold. I will hold the pair of snowshoes incase I need to go help him out of the tree well after. I hope that you guys will be as happy about this tree as I am, I guess if your not as thrilled then you can go cut down your own tree in that hellish cursed mountain pass with no green vegetation in it other than the broccoli in the kitchen fridge!!

Love, Geoff

P.S. – I don’t really think that it is a hellish cursed mountain pass with no green vegetation in it other than the broccoli in the kitchen fridge, but I thought that it would be a great way of saying if you don’t like the tree I picked then you will have to find your own. I actually really love it up there and miss the place and the people 😦

Leave a Reply

